Cherwell Canoe Club Annual General Meeting – 12th May 2018

Woodgreen Leisure Centre

Welcome, Apologies & Quorum Check

Present:

We have 65 Adults members (29 juniors); we need 20% of adults for quorum, which is 16. We have exceeded that.

Patrick Reynolds, Hugh Stevens, David Kettell, Clifford Webb, Liam Webb, Jessica Webb, Martin Hirons, Nigel Collins, Tracie Collins, Andy Dancer, John Ogle, Jim Maynard, Adrian Gregory, Astrid Aregui, Ryan Taylor, Janet Fletcher, Fiona Fletcher, Becky Fletcher, George Fletcher, Martin dean, Jack Dean, Billy Dean, Barry, Dave south, Naomi Duke, Imogen South, Phoebe South, Sam Smith, Katy Smith, Ian Westward, Ian Upton, Karen Grant, Brooke Grant, Lucy Upton, Gerald Daniels, Fred Daniels, Barrie Williams.

Apologies: Pete Howard, Marcus Nadel, Michael Punter

Minutes of last meeting

Proposed: AD, Seconded: NC

Chair-bird's thoughts

Tracie will stand for re-election.

List of various paddling trips undertaken since last AGM.

Plans for this year

Open day.

Woodgreen outdoor pool sessions over the summer.

Three 5-week novice courses planned for Woodgreen over the summer.

Get Woodgreen storage sorted.

Woolacombe surf weekend.

Rivers activity day in conjunction with The Rivers and Canal Trust.

Sibford school indoor pool sessions.

Dart trips – November & February.

Christmas party – December – to be held at Easington pub this year.

Accounts

Approved – last year

Proposed: CW, Seconded: AA

Approved – this year

Proposed: BW, Seconded: AG

Election of committee officers

Chairman

Tracie (Birdie) Collins

Proposed: AD, Seconded: JO

Vice-Chairman

Mark Thomas

Proposed: LW, Seconded: JM

Treasurer

Pat Reynolds – MN to take over the role next year and be trained up by PR

Proposed: AG, Seconded: MH

Secretary

David Kettell

Proposed: TC, Seconded: HS

Club Welfare Officer

Jim Maynard

General Committee Members

Jim Maynard

Nigel Collins

John Ogle

Michael Punter

Liam Webb

Marcus Nadel

Martin Hirons

Dave South

Niomi

Barry

Sam Smith (youth section)

Ryan Taylor

Election of Auditor

Lynne Westwood – new auditor required for next year.

Proposed: PR, Seconded: TC

Grants Mandate

Motion: This meeting supports the efforts of the committee to achieve grants and funding from the likes of Canoe England, Oxfordshire Sports Partnership and any other funding bodies in a bid to expand and support our club in bringing any polices, processes and procedures into force during the year as deemed necessary.

Approved (unanimous).

Woodgreen Storage Mandate

Motion: This meeting supports the efforts of the committee to secure and commit to long-term usage of Woodgreen Leisure Centre and authorities them to make whatever forward commitments they deem appropriate to achieve that.

Approved (unanimous)

Prize Giving

Brian Fuller Merit Award

Nominees:

Pat Reynolds, Tracie Collins, Cliff Webb, David Kettell, Michael Punter, Jim Maynard

Winner:

Michael Punter

Janes Coaching Award

Nominees:

Michael Punter, Nigel Collins, Tracie Collins, Adrian Gregory

Winner:

Nigel Collins

Sports Person

Nominees:

Liam Webb, Sam, Jessica Webb

Winner:

Jessica Webb

Most Improved Paddler

Nominees:

Jessica Webb, Billy Dean, Ryan Taylor, Sam Smith, Gerald

Winner:

Billy Dean

Fish Award

Nominees:

Pat Reynolds (Lee Valley – started at top, but 'lost' boat on way down/ Dart, capsized 3 times in same place), Jessica Webb (Polo incident), Naomi (Nene WW course incident).

Winner:

Pat Reynolds

(new) Chairperson's Award

Winner:

Ian Upton

Open Discussion

Proposal to have Woodgreen pool fees payable by web-collect